top of page

👶🏻 Why Did I Choose NICU? 🩺 ⠀


➡️Did I ever have an intention of doing NICU? I will honestly say that I didn’t even know that NICU even existed. I did not know that there was a unit completely dedicated to taking care of this tiny and fragile patient population 😅 ⠀

➡️I spent 2 days in the NICU during my maternity rotation. It wasn’t like I got to do anything crazy hands on either. But I had a patient that was weaning off of narcotics because his mother was using it during her pregnancy. ⠀

➡️Did you know that 1 in 20 or 5% of woman take illicit drugs during their pregnancy? (MarchofDimes). This is a common reason why babies are admitted to the NICU! We need to do more community outreach education as healthcare professionals! It is so important for our future generation.

➡️But in those 2 days I felt my maternal instincts kick in and I wanted to help these babies! Babies can’t voice out when they are in pain. They need strong advocates with critical thinking skills that can put it all together. ⠀

➡️I sought out to make it my goal to do my career in the NICU. Starting out with doing my senior preceptorship in the NICU. Volunteering as a baby cuddler at a hospital. And eventually getting a chance to work in my dream unit after I graduated!⠀

❓What unit are you interested in working in?

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page