top of page

👩🏻‍⚕️My Journey Into Becoming A NICU Nurse 🩺⠀⠀



🤗 So its officially been 5 years since I graduated nursing school and almost 5 years since working as a nurse. And let me tell you, this journey was not an easy one. ⠀

😅 Looking back at myself from my new grad days and seeing where I am now, I am pretty proud of where I am at now. Definitely moved past those awkward new grad days and getting much better at time management and critical thinking. But trust me- I still have one of those days. ⠀

😞 5 years ago I left everything I knew - my family and friends, and my comfort zone and moved to a city hundreds of miles away from home to start my new grad job in the NICU. Starting fresh in a whole new place and knowing absolutely no one, was an extremely daunting decision.⠀

🥰 But it was the best decision I ever made and I thank that moment in my life to lead me to where I am now. I still feel like a new grad sometimes. And that’s ok! Every day is a learning opportunity and there is not a day where I am not learning something new at work. ⠀

🤗 I hope this inspires someone to go out there and chase your dreams. NICU was always my goal and I wasn’t going to stop until I got it. And here I am, a NICU nurse almost 5 years later, making a difference for this tiny patient population.⠀

👍🏻 Don’t doubt yourself. Put yourself in the unknown. Get out of your comfort zone. Chase the dream!! You got this 🙌🏼⠀

Feeling #ICONic in my ICON Collection Scrubs from @urbanescrubs

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page