top of page

👩🏻‍⚕️ What I Have Learned In 4 Years As A NICU Nurse 🩺 ⠀⠀


💪🏻 Babies are definitely more resilient than you think. I remember holding the smallest baby in my hands for the very first time. A 550 gram kiddo, which is literally only a pound and thinking to myself, “how is it possible that you’re this small.” And then I discovered they get even smaller 😳⠀

🕵🏻‍♀️ NICU is a special unit that requires a whole lot of patience, critical thinking, empathy and compassion. We are Sherlock Holmes. Connecting signs and symptoms to a possible diagnosis and honestly not everyone will always know the answer to what it can be. ⠀

❤️ Like all units, we work as a team. Nursing is never an individual thought process. We work together for the good of our patients. Remember, as a NICU nurse, you are the voice of a patient that can’t talk. So don’t be afraid to speak up!!⠀

😊 You will get there! 4 years may seem like a short or long time depending on how you think about it. But to me, learning doesn’t ever stop. Remember to challenge yourself every day and get out of your comfort zone. Take every learning opportunity! ⠀

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page