top of page

😖 Toxic Workplaces 😤⠀⠀


😔 I graduated nursing school and moved to a city I had no clue about, didn’t know a single soul, and left my entire family behind. I was afraid of what was coming for me and the fear of “nurses eating their young” was definitely on the back of my mind.⠀

😣 As a new grad, I had no skills or experiences. Yes, I did have nicu experience during my senior preceptorship, but that experience is completely different now. I am under my own license and making judgment calls all on my own. No one is there right beside me to hold my hand every step of the way. ⠀

🤗 BUT I am extremely lucky to be able to work at places that has truly made my experiences worthwhile. For the past 4 years, I have yet to come across a situation where a staff member hasn’t come to the rescue and saved me when I was drowning. ⠀

❤️ I haven’t experienced a situation where I was belitted and ridiculed in front of others. I have also not experienced older or more senior nurses want or just watched me drown. The fact that this behavior exists truly mind boggles me. ⠀

👏🏻 Your workplace definitely makes or breaks it. And if you are in a toxic environment where people aren’t supportive and encouraging of your growth, and willing to lend a hand, then get the F out!! ⠀

🤝 No amount of money in this world is worth hating my job. My passion for nursing was always to help others, teach, and give back. I cannot pursue that if I have others throwing rocks on my back. ⠀

🙌🏼 Know your worth and how you deserve to be treated in a workplace. I am here to tell you that there are places out there that you will love. Don’t stop until you find it! 🥰⠀

▶️ Watch my YouTube video “Do Nurses Eat Their Young?” on my channel where I discuss more in detail my thoughts and experiences.

Comments


bottom of page