top of page

🤔 Should You Specialize? 🧐 ⠀⠀

👩🏻‍💻 I remember in nursing school, alot of our professors were trying to enforce Med-surg onto us saying that it was the best way to gain the most knowledge and experience as a new grad nurses.

💗 And their advice isn’t wrong. But at the same time, you can grow and learn so much in any specialty! We specialize for all different reasons. It’s so important to go into something with the heart and passion for it! And for me I LOVE NICU SOOO MUCH! 💕⠀

😅 I will most definitely admit that if you throw me into any other unit besides NICU, I would be like a lost puppy. There are times when I do float to other peds units and I get extremely nervous. But I ALWAYS make sure to ask questions when I am unsure of anything. It’s the best way to prevent any risk and harm to the patient. And of course, protect yourself and your license!⠀

▶️ I discuss this further into detail in my YouTube video “Differences Between Nursing School Then Vs Hospital Work Life Now. Should You Specialize?” Check it out if you haven’t already. ⬆️⠀

❓Do you want to specialize? Does your nursing school give you the opportunity to choose a speciality for your senior preceptorship?

Comments


bottom of page